Matthew J Saunders is a musician, mastering engineer and visual designer. His music (along with Magnétophone writing partner John Hanson)  has been synced by the BBC (world news continuity) and Sky (cross-network adverts) and perhaps most notably composed additional music for StudioCanal's feature length documentary 'Valentino: The Last Emperor'. He has also scored a number of short films and music promos. His standout artist collaborations include songwriting with Kim Deal (The Pixies), Kelley Deal (The Breeders), Pete Kember (Sonic Boom, Spacemen 3, Spectrum, E.A.R.), King Creosote, PG Six and James Yorkston.

In addition to writing music for media under his own name, he releases records and performs live as the critically acclaimed Assembled Minds, a project that combines Radiophonic experimentation, broken techno tape loops and eerie hauntological themes. Numerous BBC 6Music Radio plays, BBC Radio 3 plays, guest mixes for The Wire and Self-Titled magazines, and reviews in The Wire, Electronic Sound and MixMag have secured his place as a vital composer working at the edges of forward looking musical composition.

He is at the heart of the Wyrd Wild West movement as collaborator with Hacker Farm's Farmer Glitch and IX Tab's Saxon Roach in the band R.E.E.L., and runs highly respected record label Patterned Air Recordings, all three of its first album releases being included in Simon Reynolds' records of the year.

In the noughties he was signed to 4AD Records as one half of electronica mis-fits Magnétophone where he released two albums and several EPs and singles with writing partner John Hanson. Magnétophone were lauded for their blissfully leftfield live shows, playing the length and breadth of the UK, New York and touring extensively in Europe. Pete Kember joined them as third member and manager for the two year duration of the second album's promotional period. Matthew also recorded two Peel Sessions and two Rob da Bank Sessions for BBC Radio 1, and other live sessions for BBC Radio 3 and XFM. His first 4AD single went into the independent charts at number 16.

In 2007 Matthew contributed music to a prestitigious Visionaire arts project alongside artists such as David Byrne, U2, Michael Stipe, Courtney Love, Cat Power, Laurie Anderson, Adrock, Lee Ranaldo, Antony & the Johnsons, Thurston Moore & Kim Gordon (Sonic Youth), Malcolm McLaren, Andrew WK, Danger Mouse, Yoko Ono, SunnO))), Karl Lagerfeld, Alexander McQueen and others. As Assembled Minds he has been curated onto albums with Adamski, Amon Tobin, Arovane, Autechre, Future Sound of London, Holly Herndon, Kid606, The KLF, Nils Frahm, Ochre, Richard Devine, Ulrich Schnauss.

As mastering engineer he has mastered many interesting artists including Colin Newman (Wire) & Malka Spigel, Eva Bowan, Jon Thorne (Lamb, Iron and Wine), Eliza Carthy & The Memory Band (EAN / Stick In The Wheel), Ekoplekz, Howlround, Kemper Norton, The Duke St Workshop, Grantby, Lee F Cullen, BLACKASH, Goodnight Lenin, Cheval Sombre, Anthony Reynolds, The Home Current, Victories at Sea.

Matthew's music is notable not only for its strong melodic themes and dynamic arrangements, but also for its intrinsic and compelling sound design, where sampled instruments and field recordings, analogue synths, percussion and guitars are woven and manipulated into exquisite and unique textures and instruments.

When he's not writing or mastering music, he creates stunning visual designs — record sleeves and promotional materials for bands and labels, and logos and visual assets for businesses. He's had work showcased by German design book publishers Gestalten.

His IMDb page is here.

Matthew J Saunders

For media music enquiries:


Please prove you are human by selecting the Key.

Or email directly here:

Studio Canal Logo 1